Wednesday, September 21, 2011

The Most Important News of the Day


Guided By Voices classic '90s line-up will release an album of new material in January 2012.
The cult, low-fi heroes - Robert Pollard, Tobin Sprout, Greg Demos, Mitch Mitchell and Kevin Fennell - have returned to the studio to record Let's Go Eat The Factory. It will be this line-up's first new LP since 1996's fan favourite Under The Bushes, Under The Stars. The band have just completed a year-long reunion tour.

Let's Go Eat The Factory will be released on January 1, 2012.
Here's the modest (by GBV standards at any rate) 21-strong track list:
Laundry And Lasers
The Head
Doughnut For A Snowman
Hang Mr. Kite
God Loves Us
The Unsinkable Fats Domino
Who Invented The Sun
The Big Hat And Toy Show
Imperial Racehorsing
How I Met My Mother
My Europa
Chocolate Boy
The Things That Never Need
Either Nelson
Cyclone Utilities (Remember Your Birthday)
Old Bones
Go Rolling Home
The Room Taking Shape
We Won't Apologize For The Human Race

Holyfuck, GbV - especially the Tobin Sprout-era GbV - is on the permanent rotating shortlist for third, fourth, or fifth on the sillyass desert island.


  1. I love the ocean, but if it's a deserted island or a deserted mountain you're going to spend from here to eternity on, I'd take the mountain.

  2. I clicked through to this fully expecting that perhaps DCU had acquired an actual futbol player and we would see him on the pitch tonight. Sadly...not so much. I reject your value system.

  3. That may be the worst song you've ever embedded. My ears are bleeding from its banality.

  4. GbV can be black licorice. I dig, you don't. All's cool.

  5. Hah, that was an awesome reply, sir. My wife refers to unpalatable "treats" as black licorice.